Entry 3: identifying bias

Item 1:

–  Source: http://vnexpress.net/gl/doi-song/2010/07/3ba1d9ef/

–  Prejudice

–  Most of people longs to have a least one son in his family to keep his race alive.

Item 2:

Không nhận lao động một số tỉnh miền Trung

Cty TNHH Hung Wah, một trong nhiều Cty không tuyển lao động miền Trung

Việc làm ở các Cty tại các khu công nghiệp (KCN) ở TP. Hồ Chí Minh, Bình Dương luôn rộng mở đối với lực lượng lao động phổ thông. Nhưng cũng có một thực tế rằng, một số Cty khi tuyển người còn kèm theo điều kiện lao động không phải là người có quê ở một số tỉnh miền Trung như: Thanh Hóa, Nghệ An, Hà Tĩnh.

“Không biết răng mà họ nỏ nhận”

Với vẻ mặt thất vọng, tần ngần trước cửa một Cty điện tử thuộc KCN Sóng Thần (Dĩ An, Bình Dương), Nguyễn Trung Tuấn quê ở Yên Thành, Nghệ An cho biết: “Em đi đến hai, ba Cty xin việc mỏi cả chân nhưng đều bị từ chối chỉ vì em là người Nghệ An”.

–  Source: http://www.baomoi.com/Lao-dong-ly-huong-Vap-nga–he-luy/47/4724530.epi

–  Discrimination

–  Many companies do not accept the workers from Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh because they think that the people being from those areas are mean, bad and so on.

Item 3:

–  Source: http://www.cartoonstock.com/directory/s/scapegoat.asp

–  Scapegoating

–  The leader blames the followers for the company’s failure.

7 responses »

  1. VuhaThanhLuan says:

    Hi Le, i am glad to enjoy your entry 3. In general, you are really good at three items. However, I feel some unclear explanation for each picture because you know, it is quiet short and you are going to persuade readers perfectly if you direct them step be step.
    Thanks,

  2. Hi Le! I find your three items very interesting. However, I have some comments.
    – In item 1, I thinks it is not prejudice. Instead of this, it is stereotype. Besides, in analysis, it also shows that people appreciate boy higher than girl.
    – In item 2, In my opinion, it includes prejudice. Most of people think that people who are from Thanh Hoa, Nghe An have bad character, even they hate the workers being there, but not all of people from there are bad people.
    – In item 2, I think you should give more details about analysis.
    Anyway, I love your entry. Good luck for you ^ ^

  3. vuthimo says:

    Hi my fortuneteller,
    I like your entry, especially the second item. it is a vey pratical situation that we can see around us. Some companies and organizations do not accept people from some particular areas in the country or students graduating from some universities. It is really prejudice and discrimination
    In item 1, I agree with Huyen, it would be better as stereotype than prejudice.
    Thank for your funny and various information in this entry.

  4. Dear Le, Your entry is so interesting. however I think it will be better if you analyze more specificly. Besides, I also agree with Huyen idea for your item 1. It should be stereotype. In our country, prefering having son to having daughter is a traditional thought which has lasted up to now.

  5. I love the second item. In my view, you should analyze more in the first and second item. you only show the passage’s meaning, not give the opposite fact. On the whole, you have a good job😀

  6. I think the items are diverse, practical and well analyzed. Luan said that they are too short but in my opinion that’s clear enough.
    P/S: I feel a little bit sad as reading item 2. Huhu :((

  7. Hi Le!
    I am really interested in your three items. Especially is the second item. I was born and am grown in Thanh Hoa. Acctually, when I read this new from your entry, I am quite disappointed both those companies and the people in Thanh Hoa, Nghe An and Ha Tinh. I will have some suggestions for you.
    + In item 1: I think there are both discriminaton and prejudice here. some people like son more than daughter in their family.
    + In item 2: I agree with Huyen’ s comment
    + In Item 3: I thinks you should analysis more carefully. it is so short.
    I hope my comments will help your entry better.
    Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

