ITEM 1

Thân em như tấm lụa đào,
Phất phơ giữa chợ biết vào tay ai.
Ngồi cành trúc, tựa cành mai,
Đông đào, tây liễu biết ai bạn cùng?

(Ca dao tục ngữ Việt Nam)

  • Bias: Stereotype
  • Analyse: Women in feudal society were supposed to depend on men (their husband). They did not have right to make any decision for their all life. Their husband would be the only to decide their destiny.   

ITEM 2

  • Bias: Discrimination (Sexism)
  • Analyse: Many people belieive that men are more rational, active, independent, competitive, and aggressive than females. While it is thought that females tend to be more emotional, passive, dependent, etc. Therefore, women do not have right to vote.

– The Banner: There is a banner hung at National Association with the line “Opposed to woman surface”.

– The image: There is a woman stand behind 5 men who are voting. The 5 men do not pay any attention to the woman. 

(http://vi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phân_biệt_đối_xử_theo_giới_tính)

ITEM 3

Đầu năm học 2008-2009, Thơm được ông nội đưa đến trường mầm non xã Phúc Thành để xin đi học, sau khi xem xét hoàn cảnh cả cha và mẹ đều mất vì bệnh AIDS, cô hiệu trưởng đã từ chối ngay vì lý do: “Sợ lây sang các bạn khác, nếu Thơm đi học thì phụ huynh sẽ cho con em nghỉ học”.

Không những nhà trường từ chối mà chính quyền địa phương cũng không đồng ý. Chủ tịch xã Phúc Thành, ông Nguyễn Văn Dương, phân trần: “Em Thơm là một hoản cảnh đáng thương, nhưng để thuyết phục được nhà trường cho đi học thì rất khó bởi tâm lý kì thị của người dân địa phương rất nặng nề. Nếu Thơm đi học thì các phụ huynh khác sẽ cho con nghỉ học”.

(Trích Bé gái mồ côi nhiễm HIV bị trường học từ chối)

(http://vnexpress.net/gl/doi-song/2009/03/3ba0d49c/)

  • Bias: Stereotype, Discrimination
  • Analyse: 
– Stereotype: People are often think that HIV can spread from one to another.
– Discrimination: Because of their inherent mind, they treat people who have HIV unfairly. That they discriminate against HIV people make them become more negative and even do not want to live anymore.   

About Phuong-chan (Chinku)

We are nomads, and we can even abandon our families. We are those who fight for the country and honor.....

8 responses »

  1. VuhaThanhLuan says:

    Hi phuong, i would like to say my feelings and ideas bout your entry 3.
    – item 1: I think it will be more reasonable if here is prejudice because in the feudal society, the sense of man and woman is clear in this poem. you can think again. OK.
    – item 3: i think you omitted ” scapegoating ” because although parents have HIV but their sons and daughters are not sure to be infected.

    here are my thoughts. Hope you nice more. thanks

  2. Dear Phuong,
    Your entry is a good job, I love it. However I have something more to add:
    For item 1: I suggest you have prejudice as Luan has said before. That is clearly seen it is popularly believe that women are weaker than men so they depend alot on thier husbands and fathers.
    I strongly agree with your analyses of item 2.
    Item 3: It is better if you give more details about the stereotype. HIV is the same as aa lot of infectious diseases, but it is an very dangerous one because it can put people to death easily, spread quickly and largely.
    Anyhow, you have a really nice entry.

  3. Hi phương, I ‘ve read your post and it is really nice one. I like it. i agree with Linh’s idea.
    I would like to comment about item 3:
    i agree that the 2nd is discrimination, however in the 1st bias, it is prejudice because I think people almost know about the HIV these days. However, they just think that person who have that disease have no good thing or no good origin. That is the point make Thơm was separated from community.
    People have a strong prejudice to people with that disease, even they donot care about that person’s situation.

  4. Hi Phuong !!!
    All your items have made a deep impression on me. I love all of them.
    However, I would like you to take some following points into account.
    – In your first analysis, you have made some mistakes ( females => female ; right => rights )
    – I agree with Hang when she said ” in the 1st bias, it is prejudice because I think people almost know about the HIV these days. However, they just think that person who have that disease have no good thing or no good origin. That is the point make Thơm was separated from community.
    People have a strong prejudice to people with that disease, even they donot care about that person’s situation.”
    Anyway, I have to say that you did a good job. Congratulations !!!

  5. thanks for you all precious comments^^
    I’ll be more carefull!

  6. huyenpj says:

    hey Phuong!
    Firstly, I really want to say thank to your comments on my entry and now I also share some my ideas to your entry as a truthful fan.he
    -In item 1:I see that kind of bias in this item should be prejudice more exactly. Here women in society have to face negative attitude like goods.
    -In item 2:I agree with your analysis but in the first lines of analyzing you can call them stereotype because people believe that………as you said.And then discrimination is when having a banner ” Opposed to woman surface ”
    -In item 3:I think it’s also good.
    The end.hehe

  7. tuangoc says:

    Hello, I have some comments on your items today:

    1. I agree with your analysis but still wonder about whether it is stereotype or not. Because I think stereotype refers to some characteristics or features that people put on some specific kinds of people. Comparing to the poem, I think it doesn’t work. More like sexism I think ^^

    2 + 3: Excellent choices I think, especially item 3

Leave a Reply

