ITEM 1: Chicken family

http://www.google.com.vn/imglanding?q=funny%20picture&imgurl

Rhetorical devices:

* Personification: the clock as the husband, the hen as the wife

* Metaphor: the relationship between the members in family, especially between husband and wife

* Irony: the chicken egg but a baby elephant inside

* Overstatement: hen can be mother of elephant

Message:

The aim of the picture is to present the importance of faith in husband-wife relationship. Nowadays, the rate of devote is dramatically increasing for many reasons. One of the most common reasons is that husband or wife has love affair. Therefore, in order to keep family’s happiness, be faithful!

ITEM 2: poem:  “My love”

 My love is like an ocean

It goes down so deep

My love is like a rose

Whose beauty you want to keep

My love is like a river

That will never end

My love is like a dove

With a beautiful message to send


My love is like a song

That goes on and on forever

My love is like a prisoner

It’s to you that I surrender

By Rob Thompson

http://library.smartweb.vn/document_details.html?tab_id=1&cat_id=15&document_id=1472

Rhetorical devices

* Simile : my love-an ocean, my love-a rose, my love- a river, my love-a dove, my love-a song, my love-prisoner.

* Repetition: my love is… my love is…

* Rhyme: ocean-so-rose, river-never, song-on, prisoner-surrender

* Climax: the object that is used to compare to his love is more and more climax. First is like an “ocean”, “a rose”, “an endless river”, “a song”, and the last is like “prisoner”

Message

The author’d like to show his deep love to his darling. It is an extremely sincere love that is like a deep ocean, a beautiful rose, an endless river, a song and even prisoner.

ITEM 3: A story

The king and the peace contest

There  once  was  a  king  who  offered  a  prize  to  the  artist  who  would  paint  the  best picture  of  peace.  Many  artists  tried  and  submitted  their  work.  The  king  looked  at  all  the  pictures.  There  were  only  two  he  really  liked , and  he  had  to  choose  between  them.

One  picture  was  of  a  calm  lake,  perfectly mirroring the peaceful, towering mountains all around it. Overhead was blue sky with fluffy, white clouds. It was the favorite of all who saw it. Truly, they thought, it was the perfect picture of peace.
The other picture had mountains, too, but these were rugged and bare. Above was an angry sky from which rain fell and in which lightening played. Down the side of one mountain tumbled a foaming waterfall. A less peaceful picture would be difficult to imagine. But when the king looked closely, he saw beside the waterfall a tiny bush growing in a crack in the rock. In the bush a mother bird had built her nest. There, in the midst of the rush of angry water, sat the mother bird on her nest in perfect peace.
Which picture would you have selected? The king chose the second picture. Do you know why?
“Because,” explained the king, “peace does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble, or hard work. Peace means to be in the midst of all these things and still be calm in your heart. This is the real meaning of peace.”

Rhetorical devices:

* Metaphor : between  two  different  pictures  but  tell  the  same  conception  is  peace

*  Rhetorical question: “  Which  picture  would  you  have  selected  ?’’,“ Do  you  know  why?’’.

Message:

Real peace is in the way you recognize and in your heart.

About huyenpj

always smile! always try!

5 responses »

  1. phamthingan says:

    I like your three item because of their messages. But I would like to discuss two problems:
    – In the first item, I don’t see any clocks. Do you mean ” cock”?
    – In the last item, I think it is not Metaphor, it should be symbolism. For example, lake symbolizes peaceful, quite scene and moutain and rock symbolize difficuty….One more thing is “ Which picture would you have selected ?’’,“ Do you know why?’’ is not a rhetorical question because definitely it has answer.

  2. nguyenmaile says:

    in your item 2:
    – about rhetorical device: i do not find climax rhetorical device.
    – about message: i think that the love the author expresses to his darling is not only sincere but also enternal, beutiful.
    i think that you should reconsider them.
    thank you!

  3. I love your love poem. however, I would like to have a comment:
    – In the second item, I think the author doesn’t use the rhetorical device:”climax” because there is no increase in the level of love. Perhaps, it is “parallelism”.

  4. vuhathanhluan10071991 says:

    Dear HUYEN,

    – I like most Your item 1 with an exciting picture. To my view, in message, it will be better if you mentioned the violent matter in family instead of ” many reasons ” as you said. Because you are able to see clearly it from the cock’s action.
    – And What is “clock “. I think ” cock” more correctly.

  5. phithihong says:

    Hi Huyen! The first thing I want to say is that I love all your items. They are quite interesting and meaningful. However, I also have other comments for the first item. I think that the picture show another message. That’s the result of divorce to the childrent. Besises, I find it unsure that the couple of chickens in the picture has a row because of each other’s faithful. That reason is not expressed clearly. I expect you will consider my comment. Have the best assignment!!!(^_^)

Leave a Reply

