ENTRY 1

Item 1. Poem

A Dream Come True

By Cleopatra

Feelings that once were hidden
Are now expressed to you.
Days that once were stormy
Are now the brightest blue.

Times that once were lonely
Are now filled with pleasure.
All that once was mine alone
Are now things we both treasure.

Nights that once were cold
Are now comforting and warm.
Fears that once were very real
Are now gone with the storm.

A heart that once was broken
Can now finally mend.
A person once alone in life
Can now call you a friend.

Dreams that once were longed for
Are now all coming true.
The love I once thought was gone
I have now and forever in you.

Rhetorical devices:

  •  Parallelism: feelings that once were hidden – and now expressed to you // days that once were stormy – and now the brightest blue,etc.
  •  Rhyme: you – blue, pleasure – treasure, warm – storm, mend – friend, true – you.
  •  Paradox: hidden – expressed, lonely – filled, cold – comforting and warm, real – gone, broken – mend, alone – call a friend, longed for – coming true, gone – have now and forever…
  • Repitition: that once, are now.
  • Metaphor: feelings, time, days fears, dreams, love, heart refer to life

Message:

Life is better when you know how to live more optimisticly and believe in yourself. To be active and confident, express your feelings,, you will reach to happiness and make your dreams become true – it’s love.

Item 2. Story

Love and time

Once upon a time, there was an island where all the feelings lived: Happiness, Sadness, Knowledge, and all of the others, including Love. One day it was announced to the feelings that the island would sink, so all constructed boats and left. Except for Love.

Love was the only one who stayed. Love wanted to hold out until the last possible moment.

When the island had almost sunk, Love decided to ask for help.

Richness was passing by Love in a grand boat. Love said,
“Richness, can you take me with you?”
Richness answered, “No, I can’t. There is a lot of gold and silver in my boat. There is no place here for you.”

Love decided to ask Vanity who was also passing by in a beautiful vessel. “Vanity, please help me!”
“I can’t help you, Love. You are all wet and might damage my boat,” Vanity answered.

Sadness was close by so Love asked, “Sadness, let me go with you.”
“Oh . . . Love, I am so sad that I need to be by myself!”

Happiness passed by Love, too, but she was so happy that she did not even hear when Love called her.

Suddenly, there was a voice, “Come, Love, I will take you.” It was an elder. So blessed and overjoyed, Love even forgot to ask the elder where they were going. When they arrived at dry land, the elder went her own way. Realizing how much was owed the elder,

Love asked Knowledge, another elder, “Who Helped me?”
“It was Time,” Knowledge answered.
“Time?” asked Love. “But why did Time help me?”
Knowledge smiled with deep wisdom and answered, “Because only Time is capable of understanding how valuable Love is.”

 

Rhetorical devices

  •  Metaphor: Love(the person who is loving), Time(the person who is helpful), Knowledge(the person who has a knowledge), Happiness(the person who is happy), Sadness(the person who is sad), Richness(the rich)

Message:

Love need time to find out and share, understand, and get married or even divorce. To catch up with true love, time has an important role. Time helps love settle down, prove what true love is. “only Time is capable of understanding how valuable love is”.

Item 3. Cartoon

Rhetorical devices:

  •  Repetition: “change”
  •  Pun: the noun “change” becomes the verb “change” to make the speech in television humorous and mean that “you like the change and I will change”(I change the channel)

Message:

There is a change happening inAmerica. However, citizens inAmericadon’t care about that change. Maybe they don’t like that change and gradually take less care about politics. This might prove contradiction between people and government.

REFERENCES

http://www.google.com.vn/imgres?q=funny+cartoon+picture&hl=vi&tbm=isch&tbnid=bZ9XM86QnaBonM:&imgrefurl=http://www.magazine-cartooning.com/ideas.html&docid=R8Ekv8EdX_H8kM&w=540&h=445&ei=W_J7TpXQOamsiAfW-vHQDg&zoom=1&biw=1366&bih=561&iact=rc&dur=671&page=2&tbnh=158&tbnw=192&start=27&ndsp=13&ved=1t:429,r:12,s:27&tx=94&ty=69

http://www.indianchild.com/love_and_time.htm

http://www.tuoitrecuoi.com/phorum/showthread.php?9293-English-poem

6 responses »

  1. Firstly, I would like to say I love your poem in item No.1 as well as your story in item No.3
    which are reaaly meaningful.

    Then, I have some comments on each entry:

    For item 1:
    I think that Symbol is not one of the rhetorical devices. If you believe feelings, heart, love, dreams, etc are symbols, could you tell me what they are stand for in this poem.
    In addition, to my point of view love or the power of love is not actually the message from the author. I reckon that is the optimistic, it sends the note of belief to people that we should believe in the good side. And every bad or unlucky things will change better and better.

    For item 2:
    I di not why your picture is not presented, I followed the link but there are many picture so I could not find out which one is your. I suppose you had better reload or upload again.

    For item 3:

    I have the same idea about Symbol as I mentioned for item 1.

    That is all my comment ;))

  2. In your entry, I can understand the message of three items. They are very meaningful and useful, but i have some suggestions for your entry.
    In item 1, you should add rhetorical devices.
    – Repetition: are now, that once
    moreover, i think that the message you give ” love has magic power” is not exactly the meanings the author wants to show.In my opinion, the message of this item is that time can change everythings, nothing is forever, but it depends on your thought and action.
    In item 3, i can’t see your image.
    Anyway, I love your entry.

  3. huyenpj says:

    Hi Hien,
    thanks much because I realize many valuable things to know in your entry. I’m attracted by the poem and story and seem to feel my heart full of love.hj
    I want to give my own ideas with a wish it’s worth for you.
    In the poem,I don’t have much faith in the words you told that is symbol device because they are simple to be the meaning of themselves without other anything.And in the story I think so.
    Moreover, paradox you told seem to be unreasonable as what I understand.perhaps it should be antithesis.
    Also in the story,I don’t think it’s the metaphor as you said.Rather,it will be correct to be the personification because you can see clearly that the words are written in capital letters:”Happiness,Sadness,Knowledge,Richness,Love…”and they can talk to one another like human.
    Hope you have a nice look!He@_^

  4. I am attracted at messages of your items. they are so interesting, especially is item 2; and now I have some ideas specificly.

    About item 1, this is a meaningful poem in life. I have your views so good for it. However. there are some mistakes. I do not think ” feeling, heart, love…..” are symbols for “love, day, time,…….”in this poem. Symply, they are elements of life; so they will be metaphor of life.
    In addition, the message of poem dose not talk about magic power of love; but it is about optimism of people which the author want to transfer to reader. It means everything will be better if you are optimistic, love is,too. People must believe in life. it will offset what they lost.

    About item 2, it is a parable story. I like it so much. I agree with your oppinion. However, symbols as you list stand for what? I also have an other thought for message of this story that: Richness, vanity, Happiness, Elder, knowledge, …..wil bstand for sectors affecting on progress of love. You kieensconsult more.

Leave a Reply

