Entry 1

 

Item 1                   POEM

 Come live with me and be my love, 
And we will all the pleasures prove
That valleys, groves, hills, and fields,
Woods or steepy mountain yields.

And we will sit upon the rocks,
Seeing the shepherds feed their flocks,
By shallow rivers to whose falls
Melodious birds sing madrigals.

And I will make thee beds of roses
And a thousand fragrant posies,
A cap of flowers, and a kirtle
Embroidered all with leaves of myrtle;

A gown made of the finest wool
Which from our pretty lambs we pull;
Fair lined slippers for the cold,
With buckles of the purest gold;

A belt of straw and ivy buds,
With coral clasps and amber studs:
And if these pleasures may thee move,
Come live with me and be my love.

The shepherds’ swains shall dance and sing
for thy delight each May morning:
If these delights thy mind may move,
then live with me and be my love

  1.  Rhetorical
  •     Rhyme: fields- yields, rocks-flocks,wool-pull,buds-studs,…
  • Repetition: live with me and be my love
  • Metaphor: My love ( for girl), Roses ( for love)
        2. Message
living with me and be my love means that happiness, sweet, romance all belongs to you. Don’t worry about anything!

Item 2                     FABLE

                                                                 The sick lion

A Lion, unable from old age and infirmities to provide himself with food by force, resolved to do so by artifice. He returned to his den, and lying down there, pretended to be sick, taking care that his sickness should be publicly known. The beasts expressed their sorrow, and came one by one to his den, where the Lion devoured them. After many of the beasts had thus disappeared, the Fox discovered the trick and presenting himself to the Lion, stood on the outside of the cave, at a respectful distance, and asked him how he was. “I am very middling,” replied the Lion, “but why do you stand without? Pray enter within to talk with me.” “No, thank you,” said the Fox. “I notice that there are many prints of feet entering your cave, but I see no trace of any returning.”
He is wise who is warned by the misfortunes of others.
  1. Rhetorical      Metaphor: A lion ( person who is so cruel with tricks ), the beasts ( persons who is really naive, too easy to believe in others), the Fox ( person who is intelligent )
  2. Message     in life, the trick certainly does not last forever

Item 3                 Cartoon

1. Rhetorical

Metaphor: administrative procedures ( a turtle with slowness and oldness ), reformers’ action ( to make the administrative more badly with tiredness )

Irony: Reformers do not help. Thoroughly, they are setting fire to the matter of   administrative procedures

2. Message

The content of reforming administrative procedures is much different with the appearance that people see directly.

SOURCE

http://www.love-poems.me.uk/marlowe_come_live_with_me.htm

http://ivyjoy.com/fables/sicklion.html

http://www.tin247.com/trao_giai_tranh_biem_hoa_bao_chi_lan_thu_nhat-8-1059.html

5 responses »

  1. Hi Luan, I love your love poem. Your short story is highly worth reading also. And the turtle in your picture comes as a complete surprise to me, a nice comparision as well.

    However, I would like to share some point of my view for this entry. For item 1, I suggest you a bigger message. From my viewpoint that is how wonderful love is. And I have the same idea as yours. Next to item 3, I would like to add a message: The more adminstrative reforms are carried out ,the more complicated adminstrative formality becomes.

  2. huyenpj says:

    Hjhj Luan,

    Thanks for your comments and attention to my entry.I will consider your worthy ideas.And now I also want you to be open to my own ideas on your entry.
    In the first item, I look at repetition you can add something such as ”And we will, And.. will” because the word ” And ” is repeated in the beginning sentences to emphasize.Moreover,in your message the word ” sweet ” seem to be incorrect, it should be ” sweetness ”.
    I find your item 3 interesting but I think you can tell more in message. The unreasonability of reforming administrative procedures is not only solve nothing but also makes everything become more difficult.It is just my own thought.
    Good luck@_^

  3. Hi Luân!
    Your first item is a very romantic poem that make me want to fall in love with the author ^^
    I agree with Huyen in this item. Moreover, about your message, I think it is not clearly and quite general. You should pay more attention to these sentences:
    “And if these pleasures may thee move,
    Come live with me and be my love.”
    and
    “If these delights thy mind may move,
    then live with me and be my love”
    In my opinion, i think that 4 above sentences are very important. Because it show that if delights do not exist you still have the best things when you beside me.

  4. vuhathanhluan10071991 says:

    Actually, VAN ANH, you have found my tough matter that I am able to learn it deeply but not expressing clearly. I wonder that you could give me a further way in expressing in your own in the next time. Alright !

  5. phithihong says:

    Your entry is good with all 3 items but the most I was impressed is the cartoon in the last item. As your opinion, there are 2 rhetorical devices used in it. However, I think there is another one. That is symbol. We can see that turtle symbolize slowness, which is procedures’ feature. I hope with my comment, your entry will be better. Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

