Item 1: Story: Two seeds

Two seeds lay side by side in the fertile soil.

The first seed said, “I want to grow! I want to send my roots deep into the soil beneath me, and thrust my sprouts through the earth’s crust above me … I want to unfurl my tender buds like banners to announce the arrival of spring … I want to feel the warmth of the sun on my face and the blessing of the morning dew on my petals!”

And so she grew…

The second seed said, “Hmmmm. If I send my roots into the ground below, I don’t know what I will encounter in the dark. If I push my way through the hard soil above me I may damage my delicate sprouts … what if I let my buds open and a snail tries to eat them? And if I were to open my blossoms, a small child may pull me from the ground. No, it is much better for me to wait until it is safe.”

And so she waited…

A yard hen scratching around in the early spring ground for food found the waiting seed and promptly ate it.

Source: http://go.webassistant.com/wa/upload/users/u1000057/workspaces/30stories/#seeds

Rhetorical devices:

Metaphor: Two seeds – two kinds of people / A yard hen – the society

Consonance: The sound /s/ is repeated several times in a line: Two seeds lay side by side in the fertile soil

Repetition: “Want” (emphasize the 1stseed’s desire); “if” (to emphasize the sustainment of the 2nd seed)

Parallelism: + The first seed said “…”. And so she grew… / The second seed said “…”. And so she waited… (emphasize the two different contents in two seeds’ speeches by the similarity of structure)

+ I want to grow! I want to send my roots deep into the soil beneath me, and thrust my sprouts through the earth’s crust above me … I want to unfurl my tender buds like banners to announce the arrival of spring … I want to feel the warmth of the sun on my face and the blessing of the morning dew on my petals! (emphasize the 1st seed’s desire to grow)

+ If I send my roots into the ground below, I don’t know what I will encounter in the dark. If I push my way through the hard soil above me I may damage my delicate sprouts … what if I let my buds open and a snail tries to eat them? And if I were to open my blossoms, a small child may pull me from the ground (emphasize the hesitation, the sustainment of the 2nd seed)

+ I want to feel the warmth of the sun on my face and the blessing of the morning dew on my petals(express her faith in a bright future)

+ I want to send my roots deep into the soil beneath me, and thrust my sprouts through the earth’s crust above me … (express the impatience to go out of the earth’s surface, and want to rapidly grow)

Message: In real life, people who set goals and are willing to overcome difficulties to make things happen will be the achievers. In contrast, people who just wait for things and are frightened when facing with difficulties will be eliminated by the society.
Item 2: Cartoon: The gap between the rich and the poor

 

Source: http://topforeignstocks.com/2009/06/14/cartoon-gap-between-rich-and-poor-countries/

Rhetorical devices:

Metonymy: + A  fat, upper man: the rich /A skinny, lower man: the poor / The rest man:  all people in the world

Metaphor: + The ruler: the assessment of people / The unequability between the shape of two man: the gap between the rich and the poor (not the pillow)

Irony: “The gap between rich and poor is not as great as we thought”

Message: Rich people possess a large amount of wealth and vice versa, poor people own few havings and the gap between them is really great. The latter is standing the oppression of the former. However, people are misunderstanding about this problem.

Item 3: Poem: Life

What is life?
Some people say “Life is a gift from god”,
Some people say “Life is a game to enjoy”,
Some people say “Life is there to have fun”,

But what is it really?
Everybody try to find a satisfactory explanation,
Everybody search proofs to be confirmed,
But nobody can say definitely what life is,

Is life useful?
Some people live their life to have fun,
Some people live their life to die for others,
Some people live their life to fight for a better life,

But what is really going on?
Some people waste their lifetime,
Some people kill their fellows,
Some people don’t know what to do with their life,

What is the meaning of life?
Life is valuable and precious,
Life is irreplaceable,
Life is only once,

Life should be used careful,
Life should be used wise,
Life should be used as a big gift.

(Ramiya Duraiappah)

Source: http://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/texte/poems.htm

Rhetorical devices:

Rhetorical questions: What is life? /But what is it really? / Is life useful? / But what is really going on? / What is the meaning of life? (To make readers brainstorm)

Parallelism: Some people say “Life is …”/ Some people live… / Life is …. /Life should be

Metaphor: “Life is a gift” / “Life is a game”

Rhyme: really – everybody – satisfactory / die – fight /  fellows –  know

Simile: Life should be used as a big gift

Pun: “Some people live their life…”

Climax: Life is valuable and precious /Life is irreplaceable/ Life is only once (the bold words are arranged in the order of increasing emphasis the significance of life)

Message: Life is greatly precious. We should take full advantage of lifetime to enjoy life, care for people around us and orient ourselves to overcome every difficulty to make our life become better. 

3 responses »

  1. vuthimo says:

    I highly appreciate your entry, especially in the third item. It’s meaningful and I see you must have been hard-working to find out a lot of rhetorical devices. I mostly agree with that. However, “Life is a gift” … Is this metaphor?

  2. huyenpj says:

    Hj ha,
    I ‘m also a reader who like your entry,I can see your great attempt for all three items and that is wonderful.In some small details I only want to give my own ideas,hope you will consider as a nice thought.
    In the second item,if you told ” tha gap between the rich and the poor is not as great as we thought” ,it should be overstatement to be more reasonable.
    In the last item,I think you can add repetition device because so many words are repeated in this poem as an easy to see and most typical device.Overall,I do love this poem.hj@_@

  3. Lê Thị Hoài Thu says:

    the picture in the second item, I wonder the man, who is mesuring the gap between the poor and the rich, is whether the poor or the rich one. I think the irony here also implys the onlooker’s attitude – they don’t know what to do but measuring that between.

Leave a Reply

