ITEM 1 : IMAGE

 

Rhetorical devices:

–  Symbol :

+ The hat of the man who carries the rickshaw symbolizes the America

+ The rickshaw is the traditional symbol of China

–  Irony : The America who is often believed to be first powerful country is now carrying a rickshaw with a Chinese businessman on it.

Message 

   The American is stretching their back to pay their debts, while the Chinese are very delighted when their opponent across the Pacific continue to borrow another 1.750 trillion dollars

ITEM 2 : SHORT STORY

TWO FROGS

A group of frogs were traveling through the woods when two of them fell into a deep pit. All the other frogs gathered around the pit. When they saw how deep the pit was, they told the two frogs that they were as good as dead. 

The two frogs ignored the comments and, with all their might, they tried to jump up out of the pit. The other frogs kept telling them to stop jumping because they were as good as dead. Finally, one of the frogs took heed to what the other frogs were saying and gave up. He fell down and died. 

The other frog continued to jump as hard as he could. Once again, the crowd of frogs yelled at him to stop the pain and just die. He jumped even harder and finally made it out. 

When he got out, the other frogs asked, “Did you not hear us?” The frog explained to them that he was deaf. He thought they were encouraging him the entire time.

Rhetorical devices

– Metaphor: There are three metaphoric images in this story.

+ The dead frog indicates infirm people who don’t believe in themselves.

+ The alive frog indicates the people who always trust in good things in life and never give up.

+ The remaining frogs indicates the venomous group of people who are too heartless.

Message

   There is power of life and death in the tongue. So be careful of what you say.

ITEM 3 : POEM

YOUR NAME

I wrote your name in the sky,

but the wind blew it away.

I wrote your name in the sand,

but the waves washed it away.

I wrote your name in my heart,

and forever it will stay.

– Jessica Blade –

Rhetorical devices

– Parallelism:

   I wrote your name in the sky,

   but the wind blew it away.

   I wrote your name in the sand,

   but the waves washed it away.

– Metonymy

   The name : the whole person

Message

   The love with all our heart is the most sincere, the most beautiful and the eternal one.

REFERENCES

1. http://www.bhxhhcm.org.vn/tranh-chm-biem-viec-my-thnh-con-no-lon-cua-trung-quoc/

2. http://www.jaysonjc.com/opinion/story-of-two-frogs.html

3. http://www.lovepoemsandquotes.com/LovePoem09.html

 

 



7 responses »

  1. I find your cartoon very interesting. It shows the American economic recession. However, you should focus on the clothes that the American and the Chinese are wearing and their appearance. They seem to reveal something about the economy of the two countries and what the future may look like.

    • hoangminhtrang220791 says:

      Oh, I just forget mentioning about this, and thank you for reminding me. I really appreciate it and will learn from my mistakes ♥♥♥

  2. nguyenmaile says:

    in your item 2:
    – about rhetorical device: i think that you should go into details of venomous group of people: how are they too heartless?
    – about message: i completely agree with your message. however, what do you think about deaf frog got out the deep pit? and why was he deaf? in my opinion, one more message here that people should consider carefully when reveive other people’s advice because nobody lives your life except for you.

  3. I just want to add two more rhetorical devices on your 3rd item, they are:
    + rhyme: away – away – stay
    + repetition: I wrote your name

  4. I’m deeply interested in those item. however, I would like to have a comment on item 3. I think rhetorical device ” repetition” is also used because the sentence ” I write your name” is repeated again and again.

  5. I am very interested in your picture as well as story and poem. I also absolutely agree with all the rhetorical devices you gave. However, I would like to add one thing on your item 2 message to support for your work. In my opinion, never mind the advice of chickenhearted people, believe in yourself and don’t give up your attempt are the message which the story wants to share.

  6. tuangoc says:

    I like your entry thanks to its diversity in types. It really helped me to understand the lecture thoroughly

    My biggest impression was put on your first item. It is very thoughtful and creative. However, I think you should add to your message the relations between the American and the Chinese. As far as I can see from the picture, the American man is carrying the rickshaw FOR the Chinese man. Moreover, before I read your analysis, I immediately think about their positions in the world economy battle. The Chinese economy is rising up high and it’s said that the Chinese economy will replace the American economy as the most powerful one. If you enhance the message, I think it will be more updated and meaningful

    Thank you🙂

Leave a Reply

