Item 1: Poem

Love Me (1)

Love me in the Springtime, when all is green and new,
Love me in the Summer, when the sky is oh so blue,
Love me in the Autumn, when the leaves are turning brown,
Love me in the Winter, when the snow is falling down.

Love me when I’m happy, and even when I’m sad,
Love me when I’m good, or when I’m oh so bad,
Love me when I’m pretty, or if my face is plain,
Love me when I’m feeling good, or when I’m feeling pain.

Love me always darlin’, in the rain or shining sun,
Love me always darlin’, after all is said and done,
Love me always darlin’, until all our life is through,
Love me always darlin’, for I’ll be lovin’ you!

– Amanda Nicole Martinez –

Rhetorical devices:
_ Rhyme: brown – down; sad – bad; plain – pain; sun – done.
_ Parallelism:
“Love me in the Springtime, when all is green and new,
Love me in the Summer, when the sky is oh so blue,
Love me in the Autumn, when the leaves are turning brown,
Love me in the Winter, when the snow is falling down…”
Message:
When we love a person with all our heart, we will love his/her weak point and strong point. Moreover, we will always stand by him/her in any circumstance.

Item 2

Two seeds (2)

Two seeds lay side by side in the fertile spring soil.
The first seed said, “I want to grow! I want to send my roots deep into the soil beneath me, and thrust my sprouts through the earth’s crust above me… I want to unfurl my tender buds like banners to announce the arrival of spring… I want to feel the warmth of the sun on my face and the blessing of the morning dew on my petals!” And so she grew.
The second seed said, “I am afraid. If I send my roots into the ground below, I don’t know what I will encounter in the dark. If I push my way through the hard soil above me I may damage my delicate sprouts… what if I let my buds open and a snail tries to eat them? And if I were to open my blossoms, small children may pull me from the ground. No, it is much better for me to wait until it is safe.” And so she waited.
A yard hen scratching around in the early spring ground for food found the waiting seed and promptly ate it.
You see, those of us who refuse to risk and grow get swallowed up by life.
Patty Hansen

Rhetorical devices:
_ Metaphor:
+ The first seed: person who always dare to confront difficulties and enjoy his life.
+ The second seed: person who is always afraid about the world around him and only wants to play safe.
+ A hen: challenge in the life.
_ Parallelism:
+ “I want to grow! I want to send my roots deep into the soil beneath me, and thrust my sprouts through the earth’s crust above me… I want to unfurl my tender buds like banners to announce the arrival of spring…”
+ “If I send my roots into the ground below, I don’t know what I will encounter in the dark. If I push my way through the hard soil above me I may damage my delicate sprouts… what if I let my buds open and a snail tries to eat them…”
Message:
We often wonder about what happen in the outside world. However, we should take up challenge with optimistic attitude instead of worrying about it. If we only play safe, we might be swallowed by life. In contrast, we will mature and be stronger when we experience and enjoy our life.

Item 3: Cartoon (3)

Rhetorical devices:
_ Overstatement: the postman doesn’t save the drowned person.
_ Metaphor: the postman – indifference group of people in society.
_ Irony: the postman’s attitude towards the drowned person is very unmindful.
Message:
Nowadays, some people have indifference attitude towards everything around them. They only care about what they have to do to finish their job and ignore other things, even in urgent situations related to human life.

Reference:
(1) http://www.lovepoemsandquotes.com/LovePoem17.html
(2) from Condensed Chicken soup for the soul
(3) http://hoasibiem.com/252/biem-hoa-vui-nuoc-ngoai-ky-5.html

About nguyennhuquynh179

Zai đẹp là tài sản chung chủa xã hội :))

3 responses »

  1. nguyenmaile says:

    I agree with you on item 3. i would like to add something about your message: before being a postman, he should be a real human with humanity.

  2. Nguyen Ha says:

    I wanna add something:

    ITEM 1:
    Rhetorical devices: Repetition: “love me” (to achieve emphasis to fix the reader’s attention)
    Message: I agree with you.
    ITEM 2:
    Rhetorical devices:
    – Metaphor: I think “the hen” stands for “the society”, not “challenge in life”(“challenge in life”: the hard soil, the earth’s crust) because the 2nd seed didn’t grow means people doesn’t make progress => the hen ate it means the society eliminate those people.
    – Parallelism: there are some examples for parallelism you should continue to find.
    – Repetition: “want” (to emphasize the desire of the 1st seed); “if” (to emphasize the sustainment of the 2nd seed)
    Message: I agree with you (However, you should make it more condensed). In life, just go straight on, face with every challenge to make our dream become true. If not, we will be excluded.
    ITEM 3: – I think the postman stands for people with an inflexible, rigid way of working. They just work according to principles and skip specific situations.

    That’s just my subjective comment!

  3. vuthimo says:

    I like your third item so much. I also agree with you that nowadays, some people only know to finish their jobs but do not care about life and death of others.

Leave a Reply

